BATC Honors Four State Legislators

Image for BATC Honors Four State Legislators

Warren Limmer, Joyce Peppin, Mike Beard and David Senjem named BATC Legislators of the Year

The Builders Association of the Twin Cities (BATC) recognized four state legislators during their annual fall Awards of Excellence Gala held at the Marriott Southwest Hotel on Saturday, October 13th as Legislators of the Year. On hand to accept their awards were State Senator Warren Limmer and Representatives Joyce Peppin and Mike Beard. State Senator David Senjem was unable to attend. The four legislators were honored for their support of the housing industry.

“We were honored to have three of our four Legislators of the Year able to join us to accept their awards,” said BATC 2012 President and owner of Lee Lyn Construction, Curt Christensen. “These folks clearly understand the impact of what they do at the capitol on our industry’s ability to build and remodel homes that are affordable and meet the demands of the public.”

BATC is the voice for builders and remodelers, and works to ensure local, regional and state legislators and government officials understand the impacts of regulation and law on the industry’s ability to provide affordable, durable and quality homes for Minnesotans. A healthy residential construction industry is a huge boon to the local economy as well. In fact, according to a study from the National Association of Home Builders, building 1,000 single family homes in the Twin Cities generates over $275 million in local income, over $20 million in taxes and other revenue for local governments, 3,615 local jobs and almost $200 million in wages.

Peppin, Beard and Limmer spoke briefly after accepting their award of an engraved marble obelisk. “These folks truly deserve our thanks for the work they do,” said BATC Executive Director David Siegel in introduction during the ceremony. “They are champions for housing.”

Siegel introduced each legislator with a brief synopsis of why each was selected to earn the award.

Senator David Senjem from Rochester: Senate Majority Leader Senjem helped lead the effort to place the fire sprinkler into the final negotiations of last session. Though vetoed by Governor Dayton for the second time, Senator Senjem ensured that this issue was in the mix until the end and has pledged to continue the fight until we prevail.

Representative Joyce Peppin from Rogers: As chair of the House Government Operations Committee, Peppin has been an advocate for reasonable land use and growth policies, strongly supporting BATC’s initiatives. She also authored the industry fire sprinkler legislation.

Representative Mike Beard from Shakopee: Representative Beard has championed BATC’s effort to bring greater balance and common-sense reform to our local land use approvals process. He is a strong supporter of our fire sprinkler initiative and serves as a chair of the House Transportation Committee.

Senator Warren Limmer from Maple Grove: Senator Limmer has a decorated history of support for the homebuilding industry dating back to the licensure debates in the early 90s. He continues to champion our cause as author of our fire sprinkler initiative and serves as Chair of the Senate Judiciary Committee.

The Builders Association of the Twin Cities, presenters of the Spring and Fall Parade of Homes℠ and the Spring and Fall Parade of Homes Remodelers Showcase® represents over 1,000 member firms involved in all phases of the home building and remodeling industries and is dedicated to providing a diverse selection of quality and affordable housing to the Twin Cities area.