BATC-Housing First Minnesota Names Tom Wiener its 2018 President

Image for BATC-Housing First Minnesota Names Tom Wiener its 2018 President

BATC-Housing First Minnesota inducted its 2018 President and Board of Directors at its annual dinner meeting held at A’bulae Thursday night. Tom Wiener, President of Cardinal Homebuilders, Inc. based in Oakdale, was elected to serve as the Association’s president for 2018, and will lead a 17-member board during his year-long term. Wiener was sworn in by his son Tony Wiener, who works alongside him and is also an active member of BATC-Housing First Minnesota.

Wiener will oversee the activities of the 1,200-plus member trade association, the leading voice for builders, remodelers and their trade partners in Minnesota. Wiener brings not only a lifetime of experience in the homebuilding industry to the organization, but also a strong background in real estate as a REALTOR for over 40 years.

Under his leadership, the Association will remain focused upon advocacy work, membership growth, and strengthening its premier marketing brand, the Parade of HomesSM with its twice a year new home and remodeled home (Remodelers Showcase®) tours plus the annual Artisan Home Tour®.

“My goal is to make housing as vital in Minnesota government and politics as it is to the economy,” said Weiner. “I’m honored to not only be able to help our members continue to build homes that make communities stronger, but also to strengthen the housing movement through partnerships and collaboration.”

Wiener is a second-generation developer, homebuilder and remodeler. Cardinal Homebuilders has been an active BATC-Housing First Minnesota member for nearly 40 years. Weiner has previously served as the President of the St. Paul Area Association of REALTORS (SPAAR). Cardinal has built over 500 homes in the East Metro area.

2018 BATC-Housing First Minnesota Board Members

The BATC-Housing First Minnesota President and Board of Directors provide broad strategic direction to the association. These volunteer members elected to the 2018 Board of Directors include:

Executive Board:

President: Tom Wiener: Cardinal Homebuilders, Inc., Oakdale, MN

Builder Vice President: John Rask, M/I Homes, Fridley, MN

Treasurer: Gary Kraemer, John Kraemer & Sons, Inc., Edina, MN

Immediate Past President: Bob Michels, Michels Homes, North Oaks, MN

Associate Vice President: Dennis Galligan, In-Focus Systems, St. Louis Park, MN

Secretary: Carla Warner, Warners’ Stellian Co., Inc., St. Paul, MN

Past Associate Vice President: Charlie Bradburn, Automated Building Comp.-Millwork Div., Chanhassen. MN

Board of Directors:

Advocacy Committee: Bill Burgess, Lennar, Plymouth, MN

Remodelers Committee: James Julkowski, Julkowski Inc., Roseville, MN

Parade of Homes: Tim Fohr, Lennar, Plymouth, MN

Small Volume Builders: Art Pratt, Pratt Homes, St. Paul, MN

Large Volume Builders: James Slaikeu, D.R. Horton, Inc., Lakeville, MN

Ambassador Committee: Pattie Martin, Twin City Fireplace & Stone Company, Edina, MN

Artisan Home Tour Committee: Scott Busyn, Great Neighborhood Homes, Inc., Edina, MN

Past Presidents’ Advisory Council Representative: Rich Rimersma, Zawadski Homes, Inc., Shoreview, MN

At Large Member: Todd Stutz, Robert Thomas Homes, Inc., Lakeville, MN

At Large Member: Ron Smith, Shaw/Stewart Lumber Co., Minneapolis, MN