The Homebuilding Industry Honors Award Recipients at the 2021 Building Industry Gala

Image for The Homebuilding Industry Honors Award Recipients at the 2021 Building Industry Gala

Housing First Minnesota, the state’s leading voice for the housing industry, is pleased to announce the recipients of its coveted 2021 Builder of the Year, Remodeler of the YearAssociate of the Year and other housing awards including 15 Reggie Awards and 17 Remodeler of Merit Awards (ROMAs).  

The awards were presented during Housing First Minnesota’s biggest event of the year, the Building Industry Gala at Mystic Lake Center on Friday. Builders, remodelers, suppliers and individuals in the homebuilding industry from across the state attended this year’s event.

Housing First Minnesota’s annual awards recognize firms that exemplify the highest standards in business conduct as judged by their peers and customers.

“The housing industry’s work building homes for Minnesotans has never been more important,” said David Siegel, executive director of Housing First Minnesota. “Following the global pandemic homebuilding has only grown more challenging. It’s important to honor those that are doing an exceptional job and going above and beyond to make Minnesotans feel at home.”

Other top awards presented included the Housing Industry Leader of the Year Award that goes to an individual who has gone above and beyond to support the housing industry, the Robert L. Hanson Lifetime Achievement Award for industry servicethe Bennie Award for best new neighborhood and the Minnesota Green Path Leadership Award that honors leaders in the green homebuilding. Housing First Minnesota also bestowed its Legislator of the Year awards to honor legislators for their support of the housing industry at the Capitol. See the winners list below.

View the complete winners list here >>

Photos available upon request by contacting Katie Elfstrom,

2021 Housing First Minnesota Builder of the Year
Mark D. Williams Custom Homes, Inc.

2021 Housing First Minnesota Remodeler of the Year
Alma Homes, LLC

2021 Housing First Minnesota Associate of the Year
Dakota County Lumber Company

Housing First Minnesota’s most coveted honors are the annual Builder, Remodeler and Associate of the Year Awards. The winning companies were selected based upon evaluations of trust, communications, loyalty and ethics by the firms with which they do business, and in the case of Builder and Remodeler of the Year, by their customers.

2021 Bennie Award
Ron Clark Construction, Legacy Oaks, Minnetonka

The Bennie Award recognizes excellence in neighborhood design and construction. Judging criteria used to determine the winner include aesthetic appeal, land plan, retention of natural features, amenities, neighborhood structures as well as street layout.

2021 Minnesota Green Path Leadership Award
GreenHalo Builds

MN Green Path Leadership Award recipients inspire us with their innovation, passion and commitment to building energy-efficient and sustainable homes.

Legislator(s) of the Year
Sen. Rich Draheim (Madison Lake)
Rep. Duane Quam (Byron)

Housing First Minnesota’s Legislator(s) of the Year Awards are given to members of the Minnesota Legislature who have championed housing issues and industry legislative priorities.


2021 Housing Industry Leader of the Year
Gary Kraemer, John Kraemer & Sons, Inc.

The Housing Industry Leader of the Year Award is given to an individual or company in recognition of their outstanding contribution in the past year to Housing First Minnesota. This individual or company has made a major difference for our association, its leadership and achievement of our mission and vision.

Robert L. Hanson Lifetime Achievement Award
Curtis Christensen, Lee Lyn Construction, LLC

The award is presented to a member(s) that has more than 20 years of experience in our industry and has a powerful legacy of engagement and industry involvement throughout their career.