Homebuilding Industry Honors its Best at the 2019 Building Industry Gala

Image for Homebuilding Industry Honors its Best at the 2019 Building Industry Gala

More than 800 homebuilding industry members attended Housing First Minnesota’s biggest event of the year, the Building Industry Gala on Friday at Mystic Lake Center. More than 190 awards were handed out during the gala honoring the top builders, remodelers, suppliers and individuals in Minnesota’s homebuilding industry.

The Gala culminated in the presentation of the coveted Builder of the Year, Remodeler of the Year and Associate of the Year trophies to firms that exemplify the highest standards in business conduct as judged by their peers and customers.

“Our awards honor the best companies in the housing industry as well as individuals that have gone above and beyond to contribute and protect housing and homeownership,” said John Rask, president of Housing First Minnesota. “The housing industry is doing amazing work in our communities making homebuyers’ dreams come true. It’s important we take a moment to honor those that are leading the effort.”

Other top awards presented included the Robert L. Hanson Lifetime Achievement Award for industry service, the Bennie Award for best new neighborhood, and the Minnesota Green Path Leadership Award for innovation in energy efficient home building or remodeling. Housing First Minnesota also bestowed its Legislator of the Year awards to State Sen. Rich Draheim (Madison Lake) and Rep. Jim Nash (Waconia) for their support of the housing industry at the Capitol. See the winners list below.

Builder of the Year, Remodeler of the Year and Associate of the Year

2019 Housing First Minnesota Builder of the Year
Creative Homes, Inc., Woodbury, MN

2019 Housing First Minnesota Remodeler of the Year
Julkowski, Inc., Roseville, MN

2019 Housing First Minnesota Associate of the Year
Pella Windows & Doors, Plymouth MN

Housing First Minnesota’s most coveted honors are the annual Builder, Remodeler and Associate of the Year Awards. The winning companies were selected based upon evaluations of trust, communications, loyalty and ethics by the firms with which they do business, and in the case of Builder and Remodeler of the Year, by their customers.

Bennie Award
Eastbrooke, Cottage Grove by Gonyea Companies

The Bennie Award recognizes excellence in neighborhood design and construction. Judging criteria include aesthetic appeal, land plan, retention of natural features, amenities, neighborhood structures as well as street layout.

Minnesota Green Path Leadership Award
Robert Thomas Homes, Inc., Lakeville, MN

MN Green Path Leadership Award recipients inspire us with their innovation, passion and commitment to building energy efficient and sustainable homes.

Legislators of the Year
Rep. Jim Nash (Waconia, MN)
Sen. Rich Draheim (Madison Lake, MN)

Housing First Minnesota’s Legislator of the Year Awards are given to members of the Minnesota Legislature who have championed housing issues and industry legislative priorities.

Advocate of the Year
Tony Wiener, Cardinal Homebuilders, Inc., Oakdale MN

The Advocate of the Year honors an individual member for efforts helping the association in its advocacy work, ensuring that local, regional and state legislators and government officials understand the impacts of regulation and law on the industry’s ability to provide affordable quality homes for Minnesotans.

Robert L. Hanson Lifetime Achievement Award
Curt Swanson, Swanson Homes, Medina, MN

The award is presented to a member that has more than 20 years of experience in our industry and has a powerful legacy of engagement and industry involvement throughout their career.

Download the complete winners list below to see the Reggie Award Winners, ROMA Award Winnersand Trillium Award Winners here .

Photos available upon request by contacting Katie Elfstrom, Katie@housingfirstmn.org.