Housing First Minnesota Awards 23 Legislators with Housing Leadership Award

Image for Housing First Minnesota Awards 23 Legislators with Housing Leadership Award

Award Recognizes Legislators That Promoted Housing Affordability and Homeownership Opportunities During the 2021 Legislative Session

Housing First Minnesota has named 23 Minnesota state legislators as recipients of the 2021 Housing Leadership Award.

“With inventory at an all-time low, affordability at its worst in decades and the widest homeownership gap in the country, Minnesota’s housing market is at a pivot point,” said David Siegel, executive director of Housing First Minnesota. “These leaders recognize the need to legalize starter homes by addressing the way we zone and permit new housing. The Housing Leadership Award recognizes legislators who worked to promote housing affordability and homeownership during the 2021 legislative session and special session.”

Numerous transformative housing policy provisions were discussed and advanced through the Senate housing committee. Unfortunately, nearly all major housing priorities that were included in the Senate’s version of the housing bill, including the removal of exclusionary zoning practices, failed to make it through final negotiations.

“We applaud these leaders for their efforts to advance the cause of homeownership and look forward to substantial policy initiatives being enacted in the coming legislative session,” said Siegel.

The 2021 Housing Leadership Award Recipients:

Minnesota House of Representatives

Rep. Kurt Daudt (Crown)

Rep. Steve Drazkowski (Mazeppa)

Rep. Steve Elkins (Bloomington)

Rep. Pat Garofalo (Farmington)

Rep. Barb Haley (Red Wing)

Rep. Jerry Hertaus (Greenfield)

Rep. Tony Jurgens (Cottage Grove)

Rep. Jon Koznick (Lakeville)

Rep. Eric Lucero (Dayton)

Rep. Shane Mekeland (Clear Lake)

Rep. Jim Nash (Waconia)

Rep. Anne Neu Brindley (North Branch)

Rep. Bjorn Olson (Elmore)

Rep. Zack Stephenson (Coon Rapids)

Rep. Tama Theis (St. Cloud)

Rep. Duane Quam (Byron)

Rep. Ryan Winkler (Golden Valley)

Minnesota Senate

Sen. Rich Draheim (Madison Lake)

Sen. Zach Duckworth (Lakeville)

Sen. Kari Dziedzic (Minneapolis)

Sen. Paul Gazelka (Nisswa)

Sen. Mark Koran (North Branch)

Sen. Julie Rosen (Fairmont)