Housing First Minnesota Honors 2019 Legislators of the Year

Image for Housing First Minnesota Honors 2019 Legislators of the Year

Sen. Draheim and Rep. Nash honored as champions for homeowners and the housing industry

Housing First Minnesota, the state’s leading voice for housing, has recognized Sen. Rich Draheim (Madison Lake) and Rep. Jim Nash (Waconia) as recipients of the 2019 Housing First Minnesota Legislator of the Year Award. The honor recognizes legislators for their efforts in promoting housing affordability and homeownership opportunities.

“At a time when Minnesota faces one of the country’s worst housing affordability and availability problems, Sen. Draheim and Rep. Nash have played key roles in advancing homeownership opportunities for all Minnesotans,” said David Siegel, executive director of Housing First Minnesota.

One of the key pieces of housing legislation signed into law during the 2019 legislative session was the creation of the Legislative Commission on Housing Affordability. As newly appointed members of this commission, Sen. Draheim and Rep. Nash have initiated much-needed conversations addressing the dozens of roadblocks that face Minnesota’s broken housing market.

“Our Legislator of the Year Awards recognize both Sen. Draheim and Rep. Nash as housing champions who understand that homes are the backbone of strong communities,” said John Rask, president of Housing First Minnesota. “They understand the urgency in confronting and removing obstacles currently facing homebuyers, and we thank them for their efforts at the Capitol.”

The awards were presented during Housing First Minnesota’s annual Building Industry Gala on October 25.

From left to right: Sen. Draheim with his wife Lynnette and Rep. Nash with his wife Kim.

Download the complete winners list below to see the Reggie Award Winners, ROMA Winnersand Trillium Award Winners here.

Photos available upon request by contacting Katie Elfstrom, Katie@housingfirstmn.org.