Housing First Minnesota Honors 2023 Legislators of the Year

Image for Housing First Minnesota Honors 2023 Legislators of the Year

ROSEVILLE, MINN — Housing First Minnesota, the state’s leading voice for housing, has recognized Sen. Eric Lucero (R-St. Michael) and Rep. Shane Mekeland (R-Clear Lake) as recipients of the 2023 Legislator of the Year awards. The honor recognizes legislators for their efforts in promoting housing affordability and homeownership opportunities for everyone, everywhere.

“Homeownership and housing affordability are front-of-mind issues for many Minnesotans,” said James Vagle, CEO of Housing First Minnesota. “We are grateful for the diligent efforts of Sen. Lucero and Rep. Mekeland to advocate for both the housing industry and homebuyers at the state capitol.”

For many years, Lucero has been a champion of the housing industry in St. Paul. As a general contractor and real estate agent, Lucero understands the many obstacles that face the industry and homebuyers. During the legislative session, Lucero was a leader on the Senate Housing Committee, speaking up as important housing legislation was discussed.

This year marks the second time that Mekeland has received Housing First Minnesota’s Legislator of the Year award, first earning the award in 2020. As a member of the House Labor Committee, Mekeland shared numerous concerns and challenged legislation that would have been detrimental to the industry. By day, Mekeland serves as a general contractor helping homeowners.

The awards were presented to the legislators in October during Housing First Minnesota’s annual Building Industry Gala at Mystic Lake Center. The event celebrates the housing industry and recognizes industry members for their excellence in building and remodeling homes for Minnesotans.

Photo Credit: Nordy Photography