Housing First Minnesota Honors 30 State Legislators with Housing Leadership Award

Image for Housing First Minnesota Honors 30 State Legislators with Housing Leadership Award

ROSEVILLE, MINN.  — Housing First Minnesota, the state’s leading voice for the housing industry, has named 30 Minnesota state legislators as recipients of the 2020 Housing Leadership Award. This honor recognizes legislators who worked to promote housing affordability and homeownership during the 2020 legislative session.

“At a time when the housing affordability crisis continues to grow, these leaders played key roles in advancing housing affordability and homeownership opportunities for everyone, everywhere,” said David Siegel, executive director of Housing First Minnesota.

Numerous transformative housing policy provisions addressing the roadblocks to affordable, market-rate homes were discussed and advanced throughout the session, including zoning modernization and increased transparency in housing costs. Like most other subject matters, final housing legislation failed to get signed into law. Substantial reforms to address affordability and the inventory crisis must be addressed in subsequent legislative sessions.

“Unfortunately, Minnesota’s housing market in its current form is not working for many Minnesotans, and the difficult issues facing homebuyers must be addressed head-on,” said Siegel. “These legislators understand that we need to bring all stakeholders around the table to address the complex issues that are driving up the cost of housing and excluding many Minnesotans from homeownership opportunities.”

The 2020 Housing Leadership Award Recipients:

Minnesota House of Representatives

Representative Kurt Daudt (Crown)

Representative Steve Elkins (Bloomington)

Representative Peter Fischer (Maplewood)

Representative Pat Garofalo (Farmington)

Representative Barb Haley (Red Wing)

Representative Jerry Hertaus (Greenfield)

Representative Mike Howard (Richfield)

Representative Tony Jurgens (Cottage Grove)

Representative Jon Koznick (Lakeville)

Representative Shane Mekeland (Clear Lake)

Representative Joe McDonald (Delano)

Representative Jim Nash (Waconia)

Representative Zack Stephenson (Coon Rapids)

Representative Tama Theis (St. Cloud)

Representative Bob Vogel (Elko New Market)

Representative Ryan Winkler (Golden Valley)

Representative Dan Wolgamott (St. Cloud)

Minnesota Senate

Senator Rich Draheim (Madison Lake)

Senator Kari Dziedzic (Minneapolis)

Senator Paul Gazelka (Nisswa)

Senator Mike Goggin (Red Wing)

Senator Dan Hall (Burnsville)

Senator John Hoffman (Champlin)

Senator Karin Housley (St. Mary ’s Point)

Senator Jeff Howe (Rockville)

Senator Mark Koran (North Branch)

Senator Matt Little (Lakeville)

Senator David Tomassoni (Chisholm)

Senator Bill Weber (Luverne)

Senator Torrey Westrom (Elbow Lake)

Recipients of the Housing Leadership Award received a certificate and letter of appreciation.

Housing First Minnesota is the leading voice of home builders and remodelers and all who are dedicated to building safe, durable homes at a price Minnesotans can afford. Formerly known as the Builders Association of the Twin Cities, Housing First Minnesota represents more than 1,100 builders, remodelers, developers and industry suppliers throughout the state.