Housing First Minnesota Honors 31 State Legislators with Housing Leadership Award

Image for Housing First Minnesota Honors 31 State Legislators with Housing Leadership Award

Housing First Minnesota, the state’s leading voice for homebuilders and remodelers, has named 31 Minnesota legislators as recipients of the 2019 Housing Leadership Award. This honor recognizes legislators who worked to promote housing affordability and homeownership during the 2019 legislative session.

“At a time when the housing affordability crisis continues to grow, these leaders played key roles in advancing housing affordability and homeownership opportunities for all Minnesotans,” said David Siegel, executive director of Housing First Minnesota.

One of the key pieces of housing legislation passed during the 2019 legislative session is the newly created Legislative Commission on Housing Affordability. The multiyear commission, along with the newly formed Senate Select Committee on Homeownership Affordability and Availability, will analyze issues relating to housing affordability and ultimately recommend housing policies that balance safety, durability and affordability.

“These legislators understand that we need to bring all stakeholders around the table to address the complex issues that are driving up the cost of housing,” said Siegel. “The Legislative Commission on Housing Affordability is our state’s chance to innovate and take the lead on solving the growing housing affordability crisis.”

Recipients of the Housing First Minnesota 2019 Housing Leadership Awards are:

Minnesota House of Representatives

  • Representative Jeff Brand (St. Peter)
  • Representative Andrew Carlson (Bloomington)
  • Representative Kurt Daudt (Crown)
  • Representative Steve Elkins (Bloomington)
  • Representative Brian Johnson (Castle Rock)
  • Representative Tony Jurgens (Cottage Grove)
  • Representative Jon Koznick (Lakeville)
  • Representative Shane Mekeland (Clear Lake)
  • Representative Jim Nash (Waconia)
  • Representative Michael Nelson (Brooklyn Park)
  • Representative Anne Neu (North Branch)
  • Representative Nels Pierson (Stewartville)
  • Representative Kristin Robbins (Maple Grove)
  • Representative Tama Theis (St. Cloud)
  • Representative Duane Sauke (Rochester)
  • Representative Bob Vogel (Elko New Market)
  • Representative Ryan Winkler (Golden Valley)
  • Representative Dan Wolgamott (St. Cloud)

Minnesota Senate

  • Senator Tom Bakk (Cook)
  • Senator Rich Draheim (Madison Lake)
  • Senator Nick Frentz (North Mankato)
  • Senator Paul Gazelka (Nisswa)
  • Senator Mike Goggin (Red Wing)
  • Senator Dan Hall (Burnsville)
  • Senator Jeff Howe (Rockville)
  • Senator John Jasinksi (Faribault)
  • Senator Mary Kiffmeyer (Big Lake)
  • Senator Mark Koran (North Branch)
  • Senator Jason Rarick (Brook Park)
  • Senator Bill Weber (Luverne)
  • Senator Torrey Westrom (Elbow Lake)

Recipients of the Housing Leadership Award received a certificate and letter of appreciation.