Housing First Minnesota Names James Julkowski its 2022 president

Image for Housing First Minnesota Names James Julkowski its 2022 president

Housing First Minnesota inducted its 2022 president and board of directors at its annual meeting at the Graduate Hotel in Minneapolis Tuesday morning. James Julkowski, president of Julkowski, Inc. in New Brighton, was elected to serve as the association’s president for 2022. Julkowski will lead a 17-member board during his year-long term.

As president, Julkowski will help provide strategic direction for the nearly 1,000-member trade association during his term. Julkowski has long been active in the association and has served on the association’s board for several years as a remodeler member.

As an industry leader with more than 15 years of experience in the homebuilding and remodeling market, Julkowski brings unique experience to lead the association. In addition to remodeling and constructing new housing, Julkowski is also involved in several commercial projects including hotel renovation. He is prepared to help the association continue its efforts to bring the housing industry together to advocate for housing and homeownership in Minnesota.

“The past two years have added numerous additional challenges to building and remodeling homes in our region,” said Julkowski. “I’m pleased to take a role in helping our industry find solutions to these challenges so we can continue to build and remodel homes for Minnesotans at affordable price points.”

Like many in the industry, Julkowski got his start in construction while young, and by age 18 he was promoted to a crew supervisor. He and his wife, Rachel, started Julkowski, Inc. in 2001 where they specialize in major renovations, commercial projects, and high-performance homes. They built their first Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED)-certified home in 2008, using Structural Insulated Panels (SIPs), a building technique in which they specialize.

Joining Julkowski on the organization’s 17-member board of directors are several new faces, along with returning members (see below for the full board list). The Housing First Minnesota president and board of directors work diligently with the engaged staff team to remove the roadblocks to construction and provide the opportunity for homeownership for everyone in Minnesota.

The volunteer members elected to the 2022 board of directors include:

Executive Board

President: James Julkowski, Julkowski, Inc., New Brighton
Builder Vice President: John Quinlivan, Gordon James, Maple Plain
Treasurer: Art Pratt, Pratt Homes, Vadnais Heights
Associate Vice President: Sunny Bowman, Dakota County Lumber Company, Farmington
Secretary: Dale Loeffler, Marvin, Eagan
Immediate Past President: Todd Polifka, Custom One Homes, Woodbury
Past Associate Vice President: Ryan Rutzick, All Inc., St. Paul

Board of Directors Committee Representatives

Advocacy: Tony Wiener, Cardinal Homebuilders, Inc., Oakdale
Ambassador: Kristin Reinitz, Admit One Home Systems, Edina
Artisan Home Tour: John Kraemer, John Kraemer & Sons, Inc., Edina
Large Volume Builders: Jamie Tharp, Pulte Homes of Minnesota, LLC., Eden Prairie
Parade of Homes: Sarah Dulong, Ron Clark Construction, Edina
Past Presidents’ Representative: Chris Contreras, M/I Homes, St. Louis Park
Remodelers Committee: Samantha Grose, Oak & Arrow Homes, Edina
Small Volume Builders: Kirk Van Slooten, Streeter Custom Builder, Wayzata
At-Large Member: Tim Fohr, Lennar, Plymouth
At-Large Member: Peter Martin, Pella Windows & Doors, Plymouth