Housing First Minnesota Names John Quinlivan its 2023 Board Chair

Image for Housing First Minnesota Names John Quinlivan its 2023 Board Chair

Housing First Minnesota inducted its 2023 board chair at its annual meeting held last week  the Minneapolis Golf Club. John Quinlivan, founder of Gordon James Construction based in Maple Plain, was elected to serve as the association’s board chair for 2023 and will lead a 17-member board during his year-long term.

As board chair, Quinlivan will help provide strategic direction for the over 900-member trade association during his term. Quinlivan has long been active in the association, and he has served on the association’s board for several years as a builder member.

As an industry leader with more than 15 years of experience in the homebuilding and remodeling market, Quinlivan brings unique experience to lead the association. He is prepared to help the association continue its efforts to bring the housing industry together to advocate for housing and homeownership in Minnesota.

“It is a challenging time for building and remodeling in Minnesota, while interest rates are impacting the market, we still know we need more housing at all price points,” said Quinlivan. “I’m pleased to take a role in helping our industry find solutions to these challenges so we can continue to provide homeownership opportunities for Minnesotans.”

Quinlivan started in the homebuilding industry after working many years in the corporate world. He founded Gordon James in 2005, which specializes in high-end custom builds. Several of his homes have been featured in Housing First Minnesota’s Parade of Homes and Artisan Home Tour.

The Housing First Minnesota board chair and board of directors work diligently with the engaged staff team to remove the roadblocks to construction and support housing to provide the opportunity for homeownership for everyone in Minnesota.

The volunteer members elected to the 2023 board of directors include:

Executive Board

Board Chair: John Quinlivan, Gordon James, Maple Plain
Builder Vice President: Art Pratt, Pratt Homes, Vadnais Heights
Treasurer: Tim Fohr, Lennar, Plymouth
Associate Vice President: Dale Loeffler, Marvin, Eagan
Past Associate Vice President: Sunny Bowman, Dakota County Lumber Company, Farmington
Secretary: Peter Martin, Pella Windows & Doors, Plymouth
Immediate Past President: James Julkowski, Julkowski, Inc., New Brighton

Board of Directors Committee Representatives

Advocacy: Tony Wiener, Cardinal Homebuilders, Inc., Oakdale
Ambassador: Kristin Reinitz, Admit One Home Systems, Edina
Artisan Home Tour: Amy Hendel, Hendel Homes, Wayzata
Large Volume Builders: Jamie Tharp, Pulte Homes of Minnesota, LLC., Eden Prairie
Parade of Homes: Sarah Dulong, Ron Clark Construction, Edina
Past Presidents’ Representative: Meg Jaeger, Mega Remodel, Champlin
Remodelers Committee: Andy Michels, Michels Homes, North Oaks
Small Volume Builders: Kirk Van Slooten, Denali Custom Homes, Inc., Deephaven\
At-Large Member: John Kraemer, John Kraemer & Sons, Inc., Edina
At-Large Member: Karyn Braddock, Anchor Builders, LLC, St. Louis Park