Minnesota Homebuilding Industry Honors Award Recipients at the 2023 Building Industry Gala

Image for Minnesota Homebuilding Industry Honors Award Recipients at the 2023 Building Industry Gala

Housing First Minnesota, the state’s leading voice for the housing industry, is pleased to announce the recipients of its coveted 2023 Builder of the Year, Remodeler of the YearAssociate of the Year and other housing awards including 22 Reggie Awards and 18 Remodeler of Merit Awards (ROMAs).  

The awards were presented during Housing First Minnesota’s biggest event of the year, the Building Industry Gala, at Mystic Lake Center on Friday. More than 700 housing industry members attended the event with WCCO Radio’s Jason DeRusha emceeing the festivities.

Housing First Minnesota’s annual awards recognize firms that exemplify the highest standards in several areas – from quality and value of construction to business ethics – as judged by their peers and customers. This year’s gathering also included a special celebration of the 75th anniversary of the Parade of Homes in the Twin Cities.

“This year’s event highlights the amazing work our industry is doing throughout the state,” said James Vagle, CEO of Housing First Minnesota. “We take pride in our industry’s past and present accomplishments. It is now more critical than ever that we continue to build up communities throughout our state.”

Other top awards presented included the Robert L. Hanson Lifetime Achievement Award for industry service and the Minnesota Green Path Leadership Award which honors leaders in green homebuilding. Housing First Minnesota also bestowed its Legislator of the Year award to honor legislators for supporting the housing industry at the Capitol. See the full list of award winners below.

View the complete winners list here >>

Photos are available upon request by contacting Katie Elfstrom, katie@housingfirstmn.org.

Builder of the Year, Remodeler of the Year and Associate of the Year

2023 Housing First Minnesota Builder of the Year
John Kraemer & Sons, Inc.

2023 Housing First Minnesota Remodeler of the Year
Crystal Kitchen & Bath

2023 Housing First Minnesota Associate of the Year

Housing First Minnesota’s most coveted honors are the annual Builder, Remodeler and Associate of the Year Awards. The winning companies were selected based upon evaluations of trust, communications, loyalty, and ethics by the firms with which they do business, and in the case of Builder and Remodeler of the Year, by their customers.

2022 Minnesota Green Path Leadership Award
Lucid Builders

MN Green Path Leadership Award recipients inspire us with their innovation, passion and commitment to building energy-efficient and sustainable homes.

Legislators of the Year
Sen. Eric Lucero (R – St. Michael)
Rep. Shane Mekeland (R – Clear Lake)

Housing First Minnesota’s Legislator(s) of the Year awards are given to members of the Minnesota Legislature who have championed housing issues and industry legislative priorities.

Robert L. Hanson Lifetime Achievement Award
Bob Michels, Michels Homes

The award is presented to a member with more than 20 years of experience in our industry and has a powerful legacy of engagement and industry involvement throughout their career.